Hipsters. And an idea so genius and simple, I can’t believe I’ll be (one of) the first to try it!

  SUCK IT, HIPSTERS!

Just kidding. I love the hipsters. After all, I am part hipster. If there were Hipster Colleges, I would have a large enough heritage fraction to attend, or receive reduced tuition at state colleges. I’m like one-third hipster, one-third jock/athlete/meathead/what-have-you, and one-third potpourri.

That above picture (I beat everyone pictured) is from the Mass St. Mile during 4th of July weekend. I’m fist-pumping, because I’m in the middle of a “U-S-A! U-S-A!” chant. This was also the half-mile mark.

My friends and I decided to run this race, but to run it dressed as hipsters; partly for the irony, but mainly so we could dress like this:

I placed moderately, despite wearing cuffed, short khaki shorts and not running shorts. Also, it rained like a mofo. I ran 5:48, which I disputed. I think I ran 5:43. BUT WHATEVER, ALREADY! Without a doubt, the highlight was Casey (second from left) sprinting through the finish line like a mad man. I was rolling like none other.

That’s me, Casey, Nick, and Brent. That was the most fun I’ve ever had at a race.

What’s my one rule for races? Sprint the finish.

I left way too much in the tank. However, the positive side was I sprinted the last 200 meters like Tom Cruise in every movie trailer he’s ever been in. I passed five dudes in those 200 meters, and was adored by all the crowd, obviously. Because of how the bandanna is resting on my shoulder, I can’t help but think I sort of resemble a dog that has “cool owners” who dresses them in little bandannas and outfits.

Brent’s dog Lucy wears bandannas. But that’s because she’s a chick magnet.

A dog wears a bandanna, its a chick magnet. A guy wears a bandanna, he’s either high or handcuffed in the back of a patrol car, or both. Doesn’t seem fair.

IMPORTANT

I’m sure someone has done this, but no one’s taken it to the level Nick and I are…

So, Nick and I have this great idea. We understand we will not be qualifying for the Boston Marathon when we run in San Francisco in less than two weeks. So, we’re going to live Tweet the race. As we run, we’ll twitpic, tweet, and have GPS live-tracking us. We’re working on the GPS, but you can follow me at @ericSjorgensen and Nick at @nickWnelson.

We’ll try to Tweet you back, when applicable. We would love your encouragement or jeers, because we’re going to create a race timeline when we’re done that will include all the social media produced from our race.

If you want to follow along, at all, we start at 6 a.m. Pacific time on Sunday, July 31.

Set your alarms. Today.

2 thoughts on “Hipsters. And an idea so genius and simple, I can’t believe I’ll be (one of) the first to try it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

