My first race of the season, SEAL style

I’d be remissed not to mention the historic news of this past weekend. As I watched Prez Barry O. ooze his swag and tell America that Osama Bin Laden was dead, I felt conflicted. I was nervous of retaliation, then sad and vindicated at the same time. Be it on a noose or the result of a Navy SEAL’s bullet, his demise was justified, but I can’t shake the cost and time it took. That’s not to say justice shouldn’t have been served, because it should have [been live-streamed like 9/11 or the countless other Al Qaeda attacks across the globe]. I just wish it had been quicker with fewer casualties. Who doesn’t wish that?

Bad, asssssssss.

I’ll tell you one thing from the weekend that sticks with me, and that I will take into my first race Friday at 6 p.m. at Haskell University (a hint to come watch): NAVY SEALS!!

Holy crap I want to do that. But I can’t. Technically I could still, but I’m vested in two careers, and we have plenty of ballers taking care of business as it is. Every time I get curious and look up SEAL history and requirements, I’m amazed and motivated. I’m so juiced with SEAL inspiration, I’m probably going to sprint my race Friday.

These guys work out all the time. Literally. Almost literally. They definitely work out more than 99.9 percent of the people on this planet, often running, swimming, and training in various disciplines every day. They train so hard, so often, the Navy regularly enters teams of them in adventure races just for kicks.

If they train like this, I can at least work out twice a day, right? Well, let’s try.

Not only will I have the steroid-like rush of SEALs fueling me Friday, I’m going to try to up my workouts for the next week. Two-a-days; cardio/distance running in the morning, weight/cross-training in the evening. I’m going to be getting up early, and passing out earlier than ever. Sweet.

I’m going to give it a shot. Why the hell not?

We’ve all probably pondered this question, if you are age and gender eligible: Could I qualify to be a Navy SEAL?

I’ve thought about this, and my safe is answer is, “HA! No.” You have to qualify just to try out to be a SEAL. If you pass, then you have BUD/S training, which is world-famous for being the most difficult training regimine there is (my brother and I are researching this training to see if there’s anything we can incorporate).

Only one-third of the people who start training become SEALs. The ones who do, become specialized in a particular field of badass-ery, and train and train and train. Could I do that? Again, NO. But,¬†hypothetically, if I knew I was going to attempt the entrance test, could I qualify for BUD/S training? I would obviously be training around the clock for this, and would be better prepared than I am typing this on my lunch. Let’s look and see how I would do.

This isn't part of the qualification test, but it's safe to assume this is something you could expect to happen every so often as a SEAL.

  • Swim 500 yards within 12 minutes 30 seconds: I can do this now.
  • Rest 10 minutes
  • 42 push-ups within 2 minutes: I’ve done something like 45-50 in a minute before. Doing 42 after the swim would be tough, but having mixed weights into my swim workouts, I’m confident I could hit 42 in two minutes.
  • Rest 2 minutes
  • 50 sit-ups within 2 minutes: Again, more difficult than usual, but this shouldn’t be a problem.
  • Rest 2 minutes
  • 6 pull-ups (no time limit): The no time limit is nice, because I know I’d be burning up. Yeah I could probably do this, but I would NOT be surprised if I struggled at this point.
  • Rest 10 minutes
  • 1.5 mile run within 11 minutes: Now it gets interesting. I can run 1.5 miles at this pace no problem, but after all this? Man. This is about my triathlon running pace, which I’m using as a point of reference. I can see where on a bad day I wouldn’t make it through, but I think I could complete this.¬†
  • Pass a Basic Underwater Demolition/SEAL BUD/S physical fitness screening test in Boot Camp and in the Delayed Entry Program (DEP) in order to qualify for a SEAL contract: I’m not sure what they’re saying here. I think the test ends after the 1.5 mile run, and this last bullet point is the BUD/S training.

    So, thanks to my triathlon, marathon, and cross-training of past, I do believe I could gain entrance into BUD/S, especially if I was training for the different test components regularly. Could I finish BUD/S? I hate doubting myself, so I’ll say, “I’m not sure.” But my gut is laughing at me.The guys who do become SEALs are B.A. Forgetting what they actually mean to our country, the physical specimens they are and become is admirable, and something I will emulate in my civilian life. If at least for a week.
2 thoughts on “My first race of the season, SEAL style

  1. Sounds like you’re pretty BA as well.

    One other comment that I feel compelled to leave but conflicted about doing so at the same time: Yes, any loss of life in a war is heart breaking but I think we have a skewed vision of the cost of war. By most estimates (there aren’t hard numbers for Dday apparently) there were more American casualties in one day during WWII than there have been in the 8 years we’ve been fighting the war on terror. One day. Eight years.

  2. Those numbers aren’t wrong, which also reflects a quality of an enemy and type of battle being fought. I’m just wishing for a perfect world. C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

